Missouri GOP Tabs Ed Martin to be New State Chairman

Ed Martin, elected Saturday As Mo. GOP Chairman.

After a disappointing year at the polls, the Missouri Republican Party has elected a new chairman, Ed Martin of St Louis.
Martin, who lost a race to Democratic incumbent Attorney General Chris Koster in November, ousted incumbent David Cole and defeated another rival, Jane Cunningham.
“Today’s competition was the sign of a vibrant and mature Party," Martin said in a statement after his election.
GOP state Committee members made the decision at a meeting Saturday in Columbia.
Cole,, the past Chairman, had the support of many of the Republican elected officials in the state.
The Missouri GOP expected to win the US Senate and several statewide offices in the 2012 elections.
Despite the fact, Republican Presidential nominee Mitt Romney easily carried the state, his campaign had no Missouri coattails.
Senare candidate Todd Akin’s campaign imploded after his remarks about " legitimate rape".
GOP gubernatorial candidate Dave Spence was trounced by incumbent Democrat Jay Nixon.
State Rep. Shane Schoeller lost his race for Secretary of State.
Only Lt. Governor Peter Kinder won his statewide race for a rare third term.
Martin led the Party’s Victory Drive for the GOP in addition to his AG race.
He campaigned heavily on his opposition to the new federal health care law.
He frequently referred to Attorney General Chris Koster as " Obama’s lawyer", for not joining other states in challenging the new health care law.
I look forward to working with the members of the state committee, our volunteers, activists, and donors as we take our conservative message to Missourians from across the state and from all walks of life" Martin said in a statement.
Martin also lost a close race for Congressman Russ Carnahan in 2010.
He was also the Chief of Staff for GOP Governor Matt Blunt for part of Blunt’s one term in office.
In a news release, the Missouri GOP says, "other members of the MOGOP leadership, elected at the meeting, are Trish Vincent, Vice-Chair, Pat Thomas, Secretary, and Richard Peerson, Treasurer."


There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: