Hartzler Doubts House Will Act on Serious Gun Control

Hartzler picCOLUMBIA, Mo. — U.S. Rep. Vicky Hartzler, R-Harrisonville, said Tuesday she is opposed to legislation that would reduce the availability of high capacity magazines for weapons.
Hartzler, a second-term lawmaker who received support from the National Rifle Association during both of her congressional campaigns, said she does not believe serious gun control legislation would even make it out of the House.
“I don’t think we’re able to address these tragedies by limiting or restricting guns,” she said. “What we need to do is look at the causes of these tragedies and try to prevent them from happening, to begin with.”
Hartzler spoke to reporters Tuesday during an office opening event in Columbia, the newest part of her congressional district. U.S. Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer, R-St. Elizabeth, who represented Columbia prior to Hartzler, said Monday he believes there will be no substantive change to American gun laws in this session of Congress.
http://missouri-news.org/news/regulation/hartzler-opposes-significant-gun-law-changes-following-newtown-shooting/22614

One Response

  1. Greetings from California! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you provide here and can’t wait to take
    a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not
    even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, good blog!

Leave a comment