All 114 Missouri Counties Designated Drought Disaster Areas
July 17, 2012

Missouri Governor Jay Nixon says the entire state has been designated a primary natural disaster area because of the 2012 drought.
That means farmers, cattlemen and others will have access to low-interest loans and other help from the Department of Agriculture.
“This designation can help livestock and crop farmers across the state who are suffering great losses because of the heat and lack of rain,” said Gov. Nixon, who is surveying damage at farms in Lewis, Atchison and Polk counties Tuesday. “We’re going to continue to stand with farmers during this ongoing disaster and afterward, to help with their recovery. This designation is another part of that process.”
82 Counties in Kansas have the same designation.
Almost the entire western third of Kansas is categorized as being in an extreme drought.
Kansas Governor Sam Brownback also started an extensive multi-day tour of counties hit hard by the long, dry spell. He was in Saline County on Tuesday.